Plan For Performance

The plan for my performance is to do a noise piece in the style of merzbow, colossloth, limbo, Sunn O))), and Li Jianhong,

The performance will be done using two laptops one will play the bed tracks of the performance. The other laptop will be used in conjunction with a control devise to play and effect samples in real time over the pop of the bed track. I have decided to do a noise piece because I enjoy experimental music. Experimental music tests the endurance and attention span of the listener. It also challenges the concept of “real music” and asks the question, what is music?

So far, I have started creating the bed tracks of the performance, and on Monday 16th I will use my studio time to create some feedback and other distorted sounds to add to the bed track. I also plan on using some of my time earlier in the day to try out controllers with Ableton to find out which one would work best for me.

 

Leave a Reply

